Birmingham prepares for restaurant week

(WXYZ) - Birmingham's delicious Restaurant Week event is scheduled for January 28 – February 1 and February 4 – 8.

Top chefs from the area's finest restaurants will create special menus for the city's eighth annual culinary extravaganza. Again this year, participating restaurants will offer three-course lunches for $15 and three-course dinners for $30.

 "Eight years ago Birmingham was the first city in Michigan to hold a Restaurant Week event. We're pleased to see it gain popularity not only in Michigan, but all over the country" said John Heiney, executive director of Birmingham's Principal Shopping District. "Forgotten Harvest is the official charity partner for Restaurant Week. We look forward to supporting this great cause again this year."

The following restaurants will showcase their finest menus during the event:

220 Restaurant - 220 Merrill Street, 248-645-2150, www.220restaurant.com

Big Rock Chop & Brew House - 245 S. Eton Street, 248-647-7774, www.bigrockchophouse.com

Cafe' Via - 310 E. Maple, 248-644-8800, www.cafevia310.com

Cameron's Steakhouse - 115 Willits, 248-723-1700, www.camerons-steakhouse.com

Chen Chow Brasserie - 260 N. Old Woodward Avenue, 248-594-2469, www.chenchow.com

Elie's Mediterranean Cuisine - 263 Pierce Street, 248-647-2420, www.eliegrill.com

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar - 323 N. Old Woodward Avenue, 248-723-0134, www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/mi/birmingham

Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse ( New this year!) – 201 S. Old Woodward Avenue, (248) 594-4369, www.hydeparkrestaurants.com
Luxe Bar & Grill – 525 N. Old Woodward Avenue, 248-792-6051, www.luxebarandgrill.com

Forest Grill - 735 Forest Avenue, 248-258-9400, www.theforestgrill.com

Mitchell's Fish Market - 117 Willits, 248-646-3663, www.mitchellsfishmarket.com

Peabody's Restaurant, 34965 Woodward Avenue, 248-644-5222, www.peabodysrestaurant.com

Phoenicia, 588 S. Old Woodward Avenue, 248-644-3122, www.phoeniciabirmingham.com

Salvatore Scallopini - 505 N. Old Woodward Avenue, 248-644-8977, www.salvatorescallopini.com

Social Kitchen – 225 E. Maple Road, 248-594-4200, www.socialkitchenandbar.com
Streetside Seafood - 273 Pierce Street, 248-645-9123, www.streetsideseafood.com

Tallulah Wine Bar and Bistro - 155 S. Bates Street, 248-731-7066, www.tallulahwine.com

The Rugby Grille - 100 Townsend Street, 248-642-5999, www.rugbygrille.com

Toast - 203 Pierce Street, 248-258-6278, www.ToastBirmingham.com

Townhouse Bistro – 180 Pierce Street, 248-792-5241, www.townhousebistro.com

Reservations may be made by contacting the restaurants directly. For more information and event menus, visit www.birminghamrestaurantweek.org .

 

Townsend Salad

Maytag, Shaved Red Onion, Candied Walnuts, Croutons, House Vinaigrette

House Vinaigrette

2 ea                 Garlic Clove

1 Tbs                Anchovies

2 Tbs                Yellow mustard

1 Tbs                Dry mustard

1 Tbs                Worcestershire

1 tsp                Ketchup

½ tsp                Black Pepper, Ground

1 Tbs                Dry Basil

1 Tbs                Oregano

½ tsp                Salt

½ C                  Malt Vinegar

½ C                  Olive Oil

1 ½ C               75/25 Oil Blend

Method:          Place all of the ingredients into a container, and puree with an immersion blender.  Emulsify the mixture with the oil by slowly pouring the oil into the container while continually running the immersion blender.  Once the oil is fully incorporated, check the seasoning.  Refrigerate after use.

 

Candied Walnuts

½ pound          Walnuts

¼ C                  Sugar

3 Tbs                Water

Pinch               Cayenne

Pinch               Salt

As Needed       Sugar for Dusting

Method:          Make simple syrup incorporating all of the measured ingredients, except the walnuts.  Toss the walnuts in the simple syrup, and place flat on sheet trays without parchment and bake at 350 degrees for 8 to 12 minutes.  Remove the nuts from the oven toss with granulated sugar.  Lay the nuts out on clean sheet trays to chill.

 

Print this article Back to Top

Comments