2013 Detroit Primary Election candidate info: City Council races

(WXYZ) - We've worked with MiVote.org to provide a complete list of candidates, as well as their contact information and resources to learn more about them and their positions on the issues.

In a new twist this year, voters will elect the majority of council from districts they live in, and two council members who will serve at large. 

Use the "Learn More" links next to each candidate to view a special produced video interview from MiVote.org, or the candidate's website or Facebook page.

If you need to know where to go to vote on primary election day, visit  this page to learn more and view a sample ballot

Name Email Phone More Info
District 1
James Kyle Beeler jkbeeler4detroit@gmail.com (313)-389-6030 Learn More
Anemashaun Bomani anemashaun1950@gmail.com (313) 304-3915  Learn More
Darryl Brown darrylbrownfordetroit@gmail.com (313) 574-0410 Learn More
Laura Goodspeed goodingovernment@gmail.com (313) 717-4033  Learn More
Wanda Jan Hill wjhill7250@yahoo.com (313) 837-2937 Learn More
Ulice Sherman   (313) 255-5976  
James Tate jamestate@inbox.com (313) 838-3522 Learn More
District 2
Ervin Bassett   (313) 342-4828 Learn More
Richard Bowers Jr. rjbowersjr@aol.com (313) 366-2324 Learn More
Terrance Burney terranceburney313@gmail.com (313) 585-9518 Learn More
George Cushingberry Jr. gccushingberry@hotmail.com (313) 384-7420 Learn More
Barbara Herard barbarajean734@gmail.com (313) 585-4645   Learn More
Leslie Love ru4leslie@hotmail.com (313) 340-9596  Learn More
Derrick Muhammad derricktmuhammad@gmail.com (313) 580-6871 Learn More
Carron Pinkins pinkinspinkins@aol.com (313) 341-4582 Learn More
Kenneth L. Scott kls1146@att.net (313) 819-7065 Learn More
Hollie Tugwell hollietug@gmail.com (313) 595-3519 Learn More
District 3
Francine Adams Email Francine (313) 407-9577 Learn More
Russell Bellant russbellant@yahoo.com (313) 368-2148 Learn More
Myron Benford train_man44@yahoo.com (313) 675-5484  
Scott Benson scott@votescottbenson.biz (313) 492-9143 Learn More
Wanda Redmond wandaredmond@comcast.net (313) 718-6008  
Eugene Slappy eugeneslappy@yahoo.com (313) 368-1803  
Dorthea Thomas dortheathomas1@gmail.com (313) 649-5323 Learn More
District 4
Albert Aaron aaronforcouncil@att.net (313) 365-6255 Learn More
Bettie Cook-Scott   (313) 881-8933 Learn More
Jessie Lee Fennie lcmos@comcast.net    
Cory Josef Gilchrist     Learn More
Khalil Ligon khalilligon@gmail.com (313) 418-3973 Learn More
Bernard Parker bparker778@aol.com (313) 213-5031 Learn More
Andre Spivey andrespivey@aol.com (313) 640-5776 Learn More
District 5
Adam Hollier adam@adamhollier.com (313) 418-0159 Learn More
Attie Pollard     Learn More
Mary Sheffield msheffield4@gmail.com (313) 399-5013 Learn More
DaNetta Simpson   (313) 758-8838  Learn More
Brian White brianwhitefordetroit@gmail.com (313) 213-5383 Learn More
Mary Waters   (313) 348-7175  Learn More
District 6
Tyrone Anthony Carter tycarter3@yahoo.com (313)388-7186  
Nina Fawaz ninafawaz@gmail.com (313) 415-2200 Learn More
Vincent Keenan vince@keenan.us (313) 510-1911 Learn More
Raquel Castaneda-Lopez raquelcastaneda@yahoo.com (734) 444-8489 Learn More
William I. Robinson isaacrobinson313@gmail.com (313) 739-5093 Learn More
Davonte Sherard devontesherard@yahoo.com (313) 978-3562 Learn More
District 7
John Bennett bennjk@sbcglobal.net (313) 729-1182 Learn More
Rob Bennett poppab1010@gmail.com (313) 934-6436  
Dustin Campbell dhcampbell7777@gmail.com (313) 522-7997 Learn More
William Scott Phillips      
Gabriel Leland leland4detroit@att.net (313) 999-1422   Learn More
Regina Ross gina.ross12@yahoo.com    
At-Large
Cedric Banks cedric.33@hotmail.com (313) 409-7162 Learn More
David Bullock a.davidbullock@gmail.com (313) 917-3115 Learn More
Angles Lisa Hunt angleshunt@hotmail.com (313) 779-9251 Learn More
Saunteel Jenkins saunteel@yahoo.com (313) 378-6353 Learn More
Brenda Jones memberjones@yahoo.com (313) 861-1325 Learn More
Monica Lewis-Patrick monpat4@yahoo.com (313) 530-0054 Learn More
Roy McCalister rpmac42439@sbcglobal.net (313) 434-4806 Learn More
Jessica Rayford-Clark jrayford22@comcast.net (313) 882-6452 Learn More

 

Print this article Back to Top

Comments