New plan to transform Detroit School of Arts

DETROIT (WXYZ) - Detroit Public Schools leaders want to make the Detroit School of Arts the top choice in the country for students studying art, music or dance.

The district's emergency manager unveiled a new plan to transform the school Monday night at the Max M. Fisher Music Center.

Leaders from the Detroit Institute of Arts, the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, the Mosaic Youth Theater and the University of Michigan School of Education have all signed on to support the school.

The Detroit School of Arts will become the first of the district's 10 self-governing schools, which means all decisions about hiring, curriculum and budgets will be made by leaders at the school level instead of by the district.

The school will be run by a governing council appointed by the district's emergency manager, Roy Roberts.

Roberts announced the members of the Detroit School of Arts' governing council Monday night. They will need to hire a new principal and teachers before the start of the 2012-2013 school year.

The governing council includes:

  • Katy Locker, Program Director, Hudson-Webber Foundation
  • Dr. James Kelly, Founding President & CEO, National Board for Professional Teaching Standards and Former co-director of Strategic Management of Human Capital
  • Dr. Lester Monts, Senior Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Senior Counselor to the President for the Arts, Diversity and Undergraduate Affairs, and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Music, University of Michigan
  • Dr. Elizabeth Birr Moje, Acting Dean, Associate Dean for Research, and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, School of Education, University of Michigan
  • Stuart Frankel, Owner & Founder, Stuart Frankel Company; Chair of the Detroit Arts Corridor Organization
  • Dr. Glenda Price, President Emeritus, Marygrove College; Community Foundation of Southeastern Michigan trustee, Detroit Institute of Arts director, Detroit Symphony Orchestra secretary, Focus: HOPE chair, The Center for Michigan director, and Michigan Colleges Foundation trustee
Print this article Back to Top