Lions 2014 schedule unveiled

(WXYZ) - The Lions 2014 season is highlighted by a Monday Night Football opener at home and a brutal stretch to end the year.

Detroit will welcome the New York Giants on Monday, September 8 at 7pm for the season opener. It's the first time the Lions have opened the season on Monday Night Football since 1971. 

Games against Carolina on the road, Green Bay at home and the New York Jets on the road follow in September,

October's slate opens with the Lions hosting Buffalo on October 5, a game that will be televised on FOX under a new provision in the NFL's broadcasting deal.

The Buffalo game will be followed by a road game against Minnesota (outside this year), a home game against New Orleans on October 19 and then the game in London against the Falcons on October 26 at 9:30am EST.

The Lions bye will follow the game in London, and they'll resume the schedule with a home game against the Miami Dolphins, followed by back to back road games against Arizona and New England.

The Chicago Bears will come to Ford Field for the annual Thanksgiving Day game, which will be televised on CBS this year. 

December's schedule includes home games against Tampa Bay and Minnesota, followed by two road games to end the season - at Chicago and at Green Bay.

The Lions only prime time appearance will be the season opener, though a late-season game could be flexed to prime time. They will not play an additional Thursday game, either.

Regular Season Schedule

Monday, September 8: New York Giants, 7:10pm
Sunday, September 15: @ Carolina, 1pm
Sunday, September 22: Green Bay, 1pm
Sunday, September 29: @ New York Jets, 1pm
Sunday, October 5 - Buffalo, 1pm
Sunday, October 12 - @ Minnesota, 1pm
Sunday, October 19 - New Orleans, 1pm
Sunday, October 26 - vs. Atlanta in London, 9:30am
Sunday, November 2 - BYE
Sunday, November 9 - Miami, 1pm
Sunday, November 16 - @ Arizona, 4:25pm
Sunday, November 23 - @ New England, 1pm
Thursday, November 27 - Chicago, 12:30pm
Sunday, December 7 - Tampa Bay, 1pm
Sunday, December 14 - Minnesota, 1pm
Sunday, December 21 - @ Chicago, 1pm
Sunday, December 28 - @ Green Bay, 1pm

Tom Leyden is the main sports anchor at WXYZ. Follow Tom on Twitter: @TomLeyden


Comments