Lions sign George Winn, nine others to practice squad

(WXYZ) - The Detroit Lions announced Sunday that the following 10 players have been signed to the team's practice squad: Rodney Austin, guard; Emil Igwenagu, fullback; Nate Ness, safety; Andrew Peacock, wide receiver; Xavier Proctor, defensive tackle; Mohammed Seisay, cornerback; Julian Stanford, linebacker; Jordan Thompson, tight end; Michael Williams, tackle; and George Winn, running back.

Two notable players not signed to the Lions practice squad are wide receiver Kris Durham and running back Mikel Leshoure.

Durham caught 38 passes for 490 yards last year. In 2012 Leshoure started 14 games, and rushed for 798 yards and nine touchdowns. He only played in 3 games last season.

The NFL and the NFL Players Association agreed to expand NFL Practice Squads for the 2014 and 2015 seasons. Practice squads will return to an eight player maximum once the 2016 season begins.

Detroit opens their season on Monday Night Football, September 8th. You can watch the game on Channel 7 with coverage starting at 6:00 p.m.

Print this article Back to Top