NHL releases 2013-14 schedule, Red Wings move to Eastern Conference

DETROIT - The NHL has released the schedule for the 2013-14 season, and after years of talking, the Red Wings are finally in the Eastern Conference.

Four newly aligned divisions make up the NHL's two conferences. Detroit is in the Atlantic Division with Boston, Buffalo, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay and Toronto.

Highlights on the schedule start with the home opener against the Sabres on October 2. On January 1, the Bridgestone Winter Classic will feature the Red Wings and Maple Leafs at Michigan Stadium.

Old rivalries will take shape again, as Detroit will play each of its seven Atlantic Division opponents at least four times, including twice at home against each. That means Original Six games against Boston, Montreal, and Toronto will be regular occurrences.

The Red Wings will face the Blackhawks twice this season, at Joe Louis Arena on January 22 and in Chicago on March 16. They host the Penguins twice, on December 14 and March 20. The Red Wings visit Pittsburgh April 9.

NHL players will participate in the Olympics in February. The league will break on February 9 and return February 26. The Olympics run February 12-23 in Sochi. Because of the break, Detroit will host only one home game in February, against Vancouver on Feb. 3.

FULL SCHEDULE (Courtesy: detroitredwings.com)

October 2013

Date Visitor Home     Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Wed Oct 2, 2013 Sabres Red Wings     8:00 PM NBCSN
Fri Oct 4, 2013 Red Wings Hurricanes     7:00 PM  
Sat Oct 5, 2013 Red Wings Bruins     7:00 PM NHLN-US
Thu Oct 10, 2013 Coyotes Red Wings     7:30 PM NHLN-US
Sat Oct 12, 2013 Flyers Red Wings     7:00 PM  
Mon Oct 14, 2013 Red Wings Bruins     1:00 PM  
Tue Oct 15, 2013 Blue Jackets Red Wings     7:30 PM NHLN-US
Thu Oct 17, 2013 Red Wings Avalanche     9:00 PM  
Sat Oct 19, 2013 Red Wings Coyotes     9:00 PM  
Mon Oct 21, 2013 Sharks Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Wed Oct 23, 2013 Senators Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sat Oct 26, 2013 Rangers Red Wings     7:00 PM NHLN-US
Wed Oct 30, 2013 Red Wings Canucks     10:30 PM  

November 2013

Date Visitor Home     Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Fri Nov 1, 2013 Red Wings Flames     9:00 PM  
Sat Nov 2, 2013 Red Wings Oilers     10:00 PM CBC
Mon Nov 4, 2013 Red Wings Jets     8:00 PM  
Thu Nov 7, 2013 Stars Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sat Nov 9, 2013 Lightning Red Wings     7:00 PM  
Tue Nov 12, 2013 Jets Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Fri Nov 15, 2013 Capitals Red Wings     7:30 PM NHLN-US
Sat Nov 16, 2013 Red Wings Islanders     7:00 PM  
Tue Nov 19, 2013 Predators Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Thu Nov 21, 2013 Hurricanes Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sat Nov 23, 2013 Senators Red Wings     7:00 PM CBC
Sun Nov 24, 2013 Red Wings Sabres     5:00 PM  
Wed Nov 27, 2013 Bruins Red Wings     7:30 PM NBCSN
Fri Nov 29, 2013 Red Wings Islanders     4:00 PM  

December 2013

Date Visitor Home Score Dec Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Sun Dec 1, 2013 Red Wings Senators     5:30 PM NHLN-US
Wed Dec 4, 2013 Flyers Red Wings     8:00 PM NBCSN
Fri Dec 6, 2013 Red Wings Devils     7:00 PM  
Sat Dec 7, 2013 Panthers Red Wings     7:00 PM  
Tue Dec 10, 2013 Red Wings Panthers     7:30 PM  
Thu Dec 12, 2013 Red Wings Lightning     7:30 PM  
Sat Dec 14, 2013 Penguins Red Wings     7:00 PM NHLN-US
Sun Dec 15, 2013 Lightning Red Wings     5:00 PM  
Tue Dec 17, 2013 Ducks Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Thu Dec 19, 2013 Flames Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sat Dec 21, 2013 Red Wings Maple Leafs     7:00 PM CBC, NHLN-US
Mon Dec 23, 2013 Islanders Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sat Dec 28, 2013 Red Wings Panthers     7:00 PM NHLN-US
Mon Dec 30, 2013 Red Wings Predators     8:00 PM  

January 2014

Date Visitor Home Score Dec Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Wed Jan 1, 2014 Maple Leafs Red Wings     1:00 PM CBC, NBC, RDS
Sat Jan 4, 2014 Red Wings Stars     8:00 PM  
Thu Jan 9, 2014 Red Wings Sharks     10:30 PM  
Sat Jan 11, 2014 Red Wings Kings     10:30 PM  
Sun Jan 12, 2014 Red Wings Ducks     8:00 PM  
Thu Jan 16, 2014 Red Wings Rangers     7:00 PM  
Sat Jan 18, 2014 Kings Red Wings     7:00 PM  
Mon Jan 20, 2014 Blues Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Wed Jan 22, 2014 Blackhawks Red Wings     8:00 PM NBCSN
Fri Jan 24, 2014 Canadiens Red Wings     7:30 PM RDS, NHLN-US
Sun Jan 26, 2014 Panthers Red Wings     5:00 PM  
Tue Jan 28, 2014 Red Wings Flyers     7:00 PM  
Fri Jan 31, 2014 Capitals Red Wings     7:30 PM  

February 2014

Date Visitor Home Score Dec Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Sun Feb 2, 2014 Red Wings Capitals     12:30 PM NBC
Mon Feb 3, 2014 Canucks Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Thu Feb 6, 2014 Red Wings Panthers     7:30 PM  
Sat Feb 8, 2014 Red Wings Lightning     7:00 PM  
Wed Feb 26, 2014 Red Wings Canadiens     7:30 PM RDS
Thu Feb 27, 2014 Red Wings Senators     7:30 PM  

March 2014

Date Visitor Home Score Dec Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Tue Mar 4, 2014 Red Wings Devils     7:00 PM  
Thu Mar 6, 2014 Avalanche Red Wings     7:30 PM NHLN-US
Fri Mar 7, 2014 Devils Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sun Mar 9, 2014 Red Wings Rangers     7:30 PM NBC, NBCSN
Tue Mar 11, 2014 Red Wings Blue Jackets     7:00 PM  
Fri Mar 14, 2014 Oilers Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sun Mar 16, 2014 Red Wings Blackhawks     7:30 PM NBC, NBCSN
Tue Mar 18, 2014 Maple Leafs Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Thu Mar 20, 2014 Penguins Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sat Mar 22, 2014 Red Wings Wild     2:00 PM NHLN-US
Sun Mar 23, 2014 Wild Red Wings     7:30 PM NBCSN
Tue Mar 25, 2014 Red Wings Blue Jackets     7:30 PM NBCSN
Thu Mar 27, 2014 Canadiens Red Wings     7:30 PM RDS
Sat Mar 29, 2014 Red Wings Maple Leafs     7:00 PM CBC, NHLN-US
Sun Mar 30, 2014 Lightning Red Wings     5:00 PM  

April 2014

Date Visitor Home Score Dec Time (ET) TV Network/Results
Wed Apr 2, 2014 Bruins Red Wings     8:00 PM NBCSN
Fri Apr 4, 2014 Sabres Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sat Apr 5, 2014 Red Wings Canadiens     7:00 PM CBC, RDS, NHLN-US
Tue Apr 8, 2014 Red Wings Sabres     7:00 PM  
Wed Apr 9, 2014 Red Wings Penguins     8:00 PM NBCSN
Fri Apr 11, 2014 Hurricanes Red Wings     7:30 PM  
Sun Apr 13, 2014 Red Wings Blues     3:00 PM NBC, NBCSN

Brad Galli is a Sports Reporter at WXYZ Detroit. Follow Brad on Twitter @BradGalli

Print this article Back to Top

Comments