New college football playoff called...

When the new college football playoff debuts after the 2014 season, it will be called, "The College Football Playoff."

Fans have been invited to cast their vote for the logo that will be used when the tournament is first played in 2015. The semifinal games will be played at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA and the Sugar Bowl in New Orleans, LA.

ESPN is reporting the first national championship game under the new format will be hosted by Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX.

The dates for the championship games through 2026 were also announced: January 12, 2015; January 11, 2016; January 9, 2017; January 8, 2018; January 7, 2019; January 13, 2020; January 11, 2021; January 10, 2022; January 9, 2023; January 8, 2024; January 13, 2025; and January 12, 2026.

A news conference is scheduled for Thursday to officially announce Arlington as the site of the first championship game and also announced the Fiesta, Cotton and Chick-Fil-A Bowls will join the Orange, Rose and Sugar Bowls as rotating sites for the annual national semifinal matchups.

Print this article Back to Top