Trey Burke wins Naismith, completes POY award sweep

(WXYZ) - By: Mike DeWitt

Trey Burke joins Jay Williams and Jameer Nelson as the only point guards since 1977 to sweep all four national player of the year awards. Burke was awarded the Naismith trophy Sunday night to complete the sweep.

Burke becomes just the second Wolverine, joining Cazzie Russell in 1966, to win national player of the year.

Burke is averaging 18.8 points per game and 6.9 assists per game for a Michigan team that will play Louisville in the National Championship on Monday night.

Print this article Back to Top