Big Ten approves new divisions and a nine-game schedule

(WXYZ) - Reports have been swirling ever since Maryland and Rutgers joined the Big Ten that the divisions would be shuffled and the league would move to a nine-game schedule.

Today, the Big Ten made it official that the conference will be comprised of an East and West division, and the league will move to a nine-game conference schedule.

Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, and Rutgers will make up the East Division.

The West will consist of Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, and Wisconsin.

The changes will be put into effect in 2016.

Print this article Back to Top