Alan Trammell, Jack Morris on 2018 Modern Baseball ballot for HOF

Posted at 2:34 PM, Nov 06, 2017
and last updated 2017-11-06 15:14:22-05

Former Detroit Tigers players Alan Trammell and Jack Morris are among the 10 people on the Modern Baseball Era ballot to be inducted into the Pro Baseball Hall of Fame.

The Modern Baseball Era Committee consists of 16 members, and any candidate who receives 75 percent of the ballots cast by the committee will be elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

They will then be inducted on July 29, 2018, along with any electees who are voted from the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

It is one of four Era Committees which provide an avenue for Hall of Fame consideration to managers, umpires and executives, as well as players retired for more than 15 seasons.

The other players on the Modern Era Committee ballot include: Steve Garvey, Tommy John, Don Mattingly, Marvin Miller, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Ted Simmons and Luis Tiant.

Lou Whittaker was left off of the ballot. 

The Detroit Tigers released this statement:

"The Detroit Tigers congratulate Jack Morris and Alan Trammell on their selections to the National Baseball Hall of Fame's 2018 Modern Baseball Committee ballot. Tradition and history are the foundation of this organization - something that Jack and Tram spent many years building during their time wearing the Olde English 'D.' The two were teammates on the Tigers 1984 World series Championship Team and combined for 11 All-Star Game appearances. We're confidence that the committee will see fit for Jack and Tram to be enshrined in Cooperstown."