Former Michigan State RB Lorenzo White named to College Football Hall of Fame

Posted at 11:41 AM, Jan 07, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-07 13:36:08-05

EAST LANSING, Mich. (WXYZ) — One of the best running backs in the history of Michigan State's football program is set to be enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame this year.

Lorenzo White was named to the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019 Monday.

White participated in 46 games at MSU from 1984-87, compiling 4,887 rushing yards (4.5 per carry), 43 rushing touchdowns, 37 receptions and 265 receiving yards. He ranks No. 1 in program history in rushing yards, total rushes, rushing touchdowns and rushing yards per game (111.1).

The Fort Lauderdale, Florida native was named consensus All-America in 1985 and 1987, and he finished fourth in the Heisman Trophy voting those two seasons. He ran for 2,066 yards in '85 and 1,572 yards in '87, and was also the Big Ten Player of the Year those two seasons.

A first round pick by the Houston Oilers in the 1988 NFL Draft, White went on to play in the league for eight years, seven with Houston and his last season with Cleveland. He ran for 4,242 yards and 30 touchdowns in his NFL career.

The rest of the class includes Texas quarterback Vince Young, Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, Notre Dame wide receiver Raghib Ismail, Florida State defensive back Terrell Buckley, Oklahoma defensive back Rickey Dixon, John Carroll linebacker London Fletcher, Texas A&M defensive lineman Jacob Green, USC safety Troy Polamalu, Arizona State quarterback Jake Plummer, North Carolina State wide receiver Torry Holt, Wisconsin offensive lineman Joe Thomas and Ole Miss linebacker Patrick Willis. Former coaches Dennis Erickson and Joe Taylor are also in this year's class.

The ceremony takes place Dec. 10 in New York City during the National Football Foundation awards dinner.