More former Detroit Tigers win the World Series with Boston Red Sox

More former Detroit Tigers win the World Series with Boston Red Sox
Posted at 5:42 AM, Oct 29, 2018
and last updated 2018-10-29 06:09:21-04

Last year, it was Justin Verlander and Cameron Maybin as part of the former Detroit Tigers contingent to win a World Series with another team.

This year, however, it was much worse. The 2018 World Series Champion Boston Red Sox had four former Tigers on the team and also the former GM. Yes, the same players the Tigers failed to win a World Series with in 2014.

The former personnel are:

  • J.D. Martinez
  • David Price
  • Rick Porcello
  • Ian Kinsler
  • GM Dave Dombrowski

We should also mention that team also had Verlander, Max Scherzer, Miguel Cabrera, Torii Hunter, Victor Martinez and more.

You may remember the 2014 Detroit Tigers. It was the first year under Brad Ausmus, and they won the AL Central with a 90-72 record. Then, they got to the playoffs...

The Tigers took on the Baltimore Orioles and were swept in three straight games; 12-3 in game one, 7-6 in game two and 2-1 in game three.

Now, the Tigers are in rebuild mode and haven't been in the postseason since that 2014 season. They won 74 games in 2015, 86 in 2016 and have gone 64-98 in the past two seasons.

Congratulations to the Boston Red Sox on winning your fourth World Series in 15 years.