3 of Jeopardy's best to face off in special 'Greatest of All Time' tournament on Channel 7

Posted at 1:08 PM, Nov 18, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-18 13:08:33-05

(WXYZ) — Three of the best Jeopardy champions will face off against each other in prime time early next year, right here on Channel 7.

The Jeopardy "Great of All Time" special will air on Tuesday, Jan. 7 at 8 p.m.

It will feature Ken Jennings, Brad Rutter and James Holzhauer, who just recently won the Tournament of Champions.

They will face off in a series of matches, and the first to win three matches will win $1 million. Each runner up will win $250,000.

“Based on their previous performances, these three are already the ‘greatest,’ but you can’t help wondering: who is the best of the best?” Trebek said.

“I am always so blown away by the incredibly talented and legendary Alex Trebek who has entertained, rallied and championed the masses for generations—and the world class ‘JEOPARDY!’ team who truly are ‘the greatest of all time,’” Said Karey Burke, President, ABC Entertainment. “This timeless and extraordinary format is the gift that keeps on giving and winning the hearts of America every week. We can’t wait to deliver this epic and fiercely competitive showdown—with these unprecedented contestants—to ABC viewers and loyal fans everywhere.”

It will air on consecutive nights on Jan. 7, 8 and 9, and if necessary, on Jan. 14, 15 and 16, all at 8 p.m.