The state laws surrounding gun licenses are getting some adjustments.
One of the bigger changes: county boards will no longer make decisions on the licenses. That responsibility will now shift to county clerks.
The Michigan State Police will also conduct checks to find out if applicants should be legally disqualified for any reason.
The National Rifle Association is supporting those and other changes, saying it will help eliminate licensing delays and arbitrary denials.
Prior to the change, three-member county gun boards were responsible for issuing, denying, revoking or suspending licenses.
The cost we’ve learned will drop $5 from $105 to $100--that's not including a fingerprinting fee.
The cost of a renewal application and license which lasts for a few years will go up from $105 to $115.
This law is one of the final steps toward making Michigan a true “shall-issue” state.
That’s where a permit is issued as long as the applicant has taken a gun safety course, has no felony convictions and meets other requirements like not having a PPO.