Two Michigan teachers to be honored by President Obama

Posted at 7:01 AM, Sep 08, 2016
and last updated 2016-09-08 21:42:29-04

President Obama will honor math and science teachers from all 50 states today.

More than 200 educators will receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching -- including two from right here in Michigan.

Francie Robertson will attend the awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Robertson has been at Pine Tree Elementary School in the Lake Orion school district for the past 11 years. She currently teaches fourth grade.

Gary Koppelman is also from Michigan. He currently teaches science at Blissfield Community Schools in Lenawee County. Koppelman has been an educator for 42 years. In 2014, he was inducted into the National Teacher Hall of Fame

Teachers honored today will take home $10,000 from the National Science Foundation to be used however they choose.