WXYZ's Brad Galli voted Michigan Sportscaster of the Year

Posted at 3:46 PM, Jan 14, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-15 21:27:40-05

(WXYZ) — A big congrats to our very own Brad Galli!

Galli was voted the 2018 Michigan Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sports Media Association.

He serves as sports anchor at WXYZ and has been with the station since 2011. But Galli is no stranger to excellence. He earned an Emmy in 2016 for Excellence in Sports Anchoring in Michigan by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. He won his first Emmy in 2014 for Excellence in Sports Reporting.

Brad will be honored with the state winners at a ceremony in North Carolina this June. Jennifer Hammond and Mario Impemba were the other finalists for the award.

Detroit News writer Angelique Chengelis won the 2018 NSMA Michigan Sportswriter of the Year award.

Doris Burke was named the 2018 National Sportscaster of the Year, Adrian Wojnarowski was chosen as the 2018 National Sportswriter of the Year. Mike “Doc” Emrick, Bob Ley, Peter King, and Tony Kornheiser were voted into the NSMA Hall of Fame

Former WXYZ sports anchors Don Shane (2012) and Larry Adderly (1973) previously won the title. Legendary Tigers broadcaster Ernie Howell won the award 19 times.

Keep up the great work dude!