Valentine, Felder among HOF award finalists

Posted at 2:30 PM, Mar 13, 2016
and last updated 2016-03-13 14:30:12-04
SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (AP) -- The finalists in the five college basketball awards sponsored by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. A committee comprised of top college basketball personnel narrowed the original watch list of 20 candidates down to 10 and the final five. The winners will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame's selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes until March 25. The awards will be presented on April 8.
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Finalists:
   Domantas Sabonis, Gonzaga; Ben Bentil, Providence; A.J. Hammons, Purdue; Jakob Poeltl, Utah; Joel Bolomboy, Weber State.
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Finalists:
   Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa; Georges Niang, Iowa State; Perry Ellis, Kansas; Brice Johnson, North Carolina; Jameel Warney, Stony Brook.
Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award Finalists:
   Brandon Ingram, Duke; Wayne Selden, Jr., Kansas; Ben Simmons, LSU; Denzel Valentine, Michigan State; DeAndre Bembry, Saint Joseph's.
Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award Finalists:
   Grayson Allen, Duke; A.J. English, Iona; Buddy Hield, Oklahoma; Josh Hart, Villanova; Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia.
Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Finalists:
   Yogi Ferrell, Indiana; Monte Morris, Iowa State; Tyler Ulis, Kentucky; Kay Felder, Oakland; Kris Dunn, Providence.