Ohio State picked by writers to win the Big Ten; Michigan State picked behind OSU and Michigan

Posted at 4:52 PM, Jul 22, 2016
and last updated 2016-07-22 16:52:42-04

Ohio State has been picked to win the Big Ten again.

In the conference's unofficial preseason poll, conducted by the Cleveland Plain Dealer, 39 media members voted before Big Ten media days.

27 of 39 Big Ten writers picked Ohio State to win. 

Since the paper began running its own independent poll in 2011, when the conference ended its media picks, the group of writers has never picked the winner correctly.

Last year, Michigan State won the Big Ten championship, but this season, the Spartans are ranked third behind OSU and Michigan.

Buckeyes quarterback JT Barrett has been chosen as the preseason offensive player of the year, and Michigan defensive back Jabrill Peppers has been tabbed as the preseason defensive player of the year.