U-M Hockey coach, 5 players earn Big Ten honors

Posted at 4:24 PM, Mar 14, 2016
and last updated 2016-03-14 16:24:31-04

University of Michigan Men's Ice Hockey Head Coach Red Berenson was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year, the conference announced Monday. It was his third league honor in his coaching career after earning CCHA Coach of the year in 2008 and 1994.

The league also announced freshman forward Kyle Connor was named Big Ten Player of the Yea rand Fresman of the Year. He was one of five players who earned league honors.

Racking up 61 points in 34 games played, Connor lead the Big Ten in points and was the first U-M player to reach 60 points since Kevin Porter in 2007-2008.

Sophomore defenseman Zach Werenski was named Defensive Player of the Year. He is the Big Ten's No. 1 scoring defenseman with 28 points and is No. 2 the nation among defenseman scoring  Cirstoval "Boo" Nieves was Michigan's selection for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Junior forwards JT Compher and Tyler Motte also joined Connor and Werenski as All-Big Ten first team selections and Connor was named to the all-freshman team.

Two Michigan State players also earned Big Ten honors.

Goalie Jake Hildebrand was selected as a Big Ten Honorable Mention and defenseman Zach Osburn was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman Team.

The Wolverines (22-7-7, 12-5-3 in the Big Ten) are currently ranked No. 7 in the NCAA and will play in the Big Ten Tournament on Friday, March 18 against either Wisconsin or Penn State.