Taylor brothers make it record 4 straight wins in IMSA

Taylor brothers make it record 4 straight wins in IMSA
Posted at 6:21 PM, May 06, 2017
and last updated 2017-05-06 18:21:39-04
AUSTIN, Texas (AP) -- Jordan Taylor closed out a record fourth consecutive victory for Wayne Taylor Racing, remaining undefeated this season with its win at Circuit of The Americas.
Ricky Taylor set a track record in qualifying the Cadillac and opened Saturday's race for the two-brother team. Jordan Taylor closed out the event and had the fastest lap of the race.
The Taylors won at COTA last year, and dominated in their repeat victory. No team had won four consecutive races in the IMSA WeatherTech Championship Series prior to the Taylors victory. They now have the longest win streak in major U.S. sports car competition since Klaus Graf and Lucas Luhr won eight ALMS races in a row in 2013 with Muscle Milk Pickett Racing.
Their win was dominant Saturday as Jordan Taylor beat Dane Cameron by 18.855 seconds.
"Cadillac did a beautiful job of designing this race car and that was the best car I've ever had," said Ricky Taylor. "I'm just enjoying this while it lasts because you don't come across this in a lifetime."
The Taylors opened the season with a victory at the Rolex 24 at Daytona, then won the Twelve Hours of Sebring and a short race last month at Long Beach. They are doing it in a dominant new Cadillac program that is head and shoulders above the others in the Prototype class.
Cadillac went 1-2-3 at COTA.
In the GT Le Mans class, Antonio Garcia and Jan Magnussen won in the No. 3 Corvette Racing Chevrolet. It was the 104th major U.S. sports car victory for Corvette Racing.
Ben Keating and Jeroen Bleekemolen teamed to win the GT Daytona class for Team AMG Mercedes-AMG. It was the fourth win at COTA in five years for Keating.
The Prototype Challenge class was won by James French and Pato O'Ward in the No. 38 Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA. The win came on the day Mexican driver O'Ward is celebrating his 18th birthday.