Derrick Walton Jr. named to Preseason All-Big Ten Team

Posted at 7:15 PM, Oct 11, 2016
and last updated 2016-10-11 19:15:14-04

CHICAGO (WXYZ) -- Michigan guard Derrick Walton Jr. was named to the Preseason All-Big Ten Team, the conference announced Tuesday.

Walton joins Caris LeVert, Mitch McGary, Glenn Robinson III, and Trey Burke as Wolverines named to the Preseason All-Big Ten Team over the past five years.

Wisconsin's Nigel Hayes was unanimously voted Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year.

The full Preseason All-Big Ten Team is as follows:

Malcolm Hill (Illinois), James Blackmon Jr. (Indiana), Thomas Bryant (Indiana), Peter Jok (Iowa), Melo Trimble (Maryland), Derrick Walton Jr. (Michigan), Caleb Swanigan (Purdue), Ethan Happ (Wisconsin), Nigel Hayes (Wisconsin), Bronson Koenig (Wisconsin)